Sign in with
Your question

Question about the Motherboard for my new gaming rig

Last response: in Motherboards
August 18, 2008 4:37:43 AM

Ok so I'm currently working on picking out a new computer. Right now I'm looking specifically at Alienware computers although I'm open to other manufacturers. I do need to have it built for me since I'm a hardware noob.

However every time I mention the 680i motherboard that comes in the Alienware Area 51 i'm currently considering I get told its a terrible motherboard, so I'm wondering if the one that comes in their Aurora is any better, or if I should scrap Alienware all together and go someplace else (if thats true I would LOVE a few suggestions of places).

I'm looking to spend around 2200 on a computer (hard capped after tax at 2400).

I need it for almost exclusively gaming, I wll be doing homework on it but I don't do anything besides games that should be taxing on the system.

Currently i'm looking at

Intel Q6600 quad core
4 gb DDR2 RAM
Dual 512 Nvidia 9800 GT
500 GB Hard Drive
1000 watt power supply

I'd like to get something around this level if I have to switch companies for a better motherboard. However any help, specifically about whether or not the AMD is any better quality wise or a pointer towards another company on the same price level with better motherboards would be helpful. (I've looked at Falcon Northwest but their computers seem to cost nearly 4 or 5 hundred dollars more with the same hardware in them)

Thanks in advance!
August 18, 2008 5:06:19 AM

PSU is overkill but the guts of it look good. what case are you cramming it into
August 18, 2008 5:11:46 AM

PSU?

And I'm buying it pre-built from Alienware.
Related resources
August 18, 2008 5:17:22 AM

power supply unit,

should be able to run COD4 at max with70+ FPS crysis at medium
August 18, 2008 5:21:03 AM

yeah its intentionally overkill so I wont have to replace it later if I want to upgrade.