Sign in with
Your question

Heatsink for Phenom 955 w/ Gigabyte 790FX Mobo

Last response: in Overclocking
May 5, 2009 1:13:51 AM

Recently I ordered parts for my first build which includes the Phenom II X4 955 processor, Antec 900 case, Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard and Xigmatech HDT-S1283 cooler. I choose the cooler because of the Tom's review and a recommendation for a build with a 940 processor.

Well anyways, today I was doing some further research and it seems there's a problem with this cooler blocking the first DIMM slot on some Gigabyte AMD motherboards. I could not find the model number of the specific motherboard(s), but the possibility of it being mine scared me a bit. I've also read of installation troubles due to using push pens, as well as not being able to position it so the fan blows air to the rear of the case. I'm new to this so I'm not for sure if these will be actual problems or if they're minor complaints.

I'd appreciate any insight or new heatsink recommendations that ya'll can give. This site and these forums in particular have been a big help in pushing me to build a new computer.
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
May 5, 2009 4:27:45 AM

The memory slot closest to the cpu socket might be a problem. It happens when the memory modules come with the tall heatsinks. Those types of memory heatsinks get in the way. The solution is to use standard size memory modules that have standard size heatsinks.

Here's a tip - Install the memory modules first, then install the cpu heatsink. It will save you some aggravation.

The push pins may or may not be a problem. They can be a little difficult to work with. It just depends. I replaced the push pins that came with my cpu heatsink with #40-4 nylon nuts and bolts. They cost 11 cents each at Ace Hardware. It's a nifty trick I learned over at the ASUS forum. Works good and provides even pressure at all four corners.