Its been a long time...

halcyon

Splendid
I've been using my X-Fi Elite Pro with Z-5500 speakers for a couple of years now. While I know neither is the best they seem to pair well (subjectively) for their respective prices. My use is pretty much limited to music...don't really watch movies on my rig, I'd rather sit on the couch for that. Anywho...

However, on the audio card end there's some new players on the block, such as the Xonar, Prelude, and Claro+. I'm still satisfied with the bacteria-killing bass of the Z-5500's, despite its laser-beam like sats. The Z-5500's seem okay for personal surround. For critical listening I use an outboard DAC and headphone amp with reasonable headphones (listed below).

Vista64 is the platform and the X-Fi EP works beautifully there. However, is there any benefit to be had by moving to one of the above listed sound cards or does the X-Fi offer all the audible resolution I'm going to get out of the Z-5500's? I know this is not the Hydrogen Audio Forum, and I may ask there as well, but I thought there may still be some Audiophiles that frequent this forum that could offer some opinions.

halcyon

Splendid

That's what I figured, the listed cards seem to be better made with little things like solid caps but that's not reason enough to upgrade if there's no audible benefit.

The Committee, consisting of my Wife (General Grump) and daughter (Captain Chaos) are not terribly supportive of my audio needs so and I'd lose the vote 2-to-1, so I doubt there's gonna be any $$$$ going in that direction, maybe $500 but not enough for a more serious upgrade like you've suggested.

sportsfanboy

Distinguished
I hear you on the women front... Have you looked into shure headphones?

Shure makes some pretty nice audio equipment, I had an in the ear set, and they sounded amazing. For my computer, I have klipsch 2.1 pro media