Problems connecting router. HELP PLEASE!

sargentchimera

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2009
I just baught an Xtreme N Gaming router from D-Link and im having issues with it. I hooked every thing up correctly then put the disk in the computer to install whatever it needs and it told me no wired adapter connected and that it cant configure the router over wireless internet. Now i dont have wired internet and my cable plug is 25 feet away from my computer so i cant get the ethernet cord near the computer. I tried calling tech support but it took me to india and i couldnt understand anything they said! So i dont know what to do and im wondering if you guys can help out at all. There has to be a way to get it working withough me having to move my computer. Also im not very tech savvy, i barly know what an ethernet cord is lol, so if you can help try to simplify it as much as possible.
Thanks!

Zenthar

Distinguished
To make the setup, the router might need to be connected to the Cable Modem, so maybe you can just bring the router close to your PC and use the network cable you used between the router and the modem to do the setup ... just a though.

sargentchimera

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2009