I think my RAM and my CPU was underclocked

d3adman500

Distinguished
May 8, 2009
Hi, this is my first time here and this is the first time i've ever had this problem.

Today, my friend gave me a pair of Kingston HyperX (2x512MB) dual channel RAM. it had the same speed as my current one, which is the Corsair Dominator PC2-8500 1066MHz and 5-5-5-15. So i tried to install it on my system and couldn't play any games because of the memory.dll error in bf2. So i figured that it was the new RAM causing the problem...I removed it and i checked my CPU Z and saw that my memory changed from PC2-8500 to PC2-6400 running at 800Mhz. My CPU speed also decreased from 2999MHz to 2399Mhz.....Here is a picture of my CPU Z and my PC Wizard. I need help on getting my system back to normal...so please if there's anybody who is an expert on these kinds of problems i need ur help.

CPU1.jpg

CPU2.jpg

CPU3.jpg

flyin15sec

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2008
It appears that by adding the additional ram, your system or BIOS just reset to default values. You'll have to manually set your memory to 1066mhz, by default memory is run as 800mhz.

However you got your CPU, a Q6600 to 3ghz, just do the same thing.

d3adman500

Distinguished
May 8, 2009
what exactly do i have to Change....I am a noob at this topic....i already know how to go to the BIOS...I just need to know where in the BIOS do i need to go....Also do i have to change any voltages? I checked the CPU frequency section (section that has the FSB QDR and DDR stuff)...there are options like SLi memory [disables], QDR was set to 1066 and DDR was set to 800mhz...there is the memory ratio which was set to auto and there is an option (i forgot the name) which gives me the option to link, unlink, or set the DDR and QDR to auto...And how bout for the CPU?

I'm really sorry about my explanation....but I appreciate the help guys...

flyin15sec

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2008