Sign in with
Your question

XP repair option not available - EXPERTS only plz

Last response: in Windows XP
October 15, 2010 7:16:05 AM

Now before I begin, I would like to say that I am a technician working for a local shop trying to improve my skills. Also, I *can* Google and have exhausted all of the generic answers that would have likely been given. I am looking for a truly advanced answer here as I have tried everything else.

- The hard drive is IDE, thus there is no AHCI option to worry about in the BIOS interfering
- The computer I am trying to repair has XP Home Sp2
- The disk I am using to attempt repair is an XP Home Sp3 disk that has been used on countless other customer machines to perform a windows repair. The disk is NOT the issue here, and I know how to perform a windows repair :kaola: . I have also attempted to use an XP Home Sp2 repair disk as well to no avail.

- Cannot boot into safe mode, VGA mode, or Last Good Configuration
- Parted Magic does not report any errors and passed an extended test with Hard Drive Health Inspection
- ERD Commander recognizes the installation as an "unsupported" version of Windows NT. Therefore, I cannot perform a system restore or an sfc /scannow (Unless there is another way that I don't know about)
- UBCD4Win was used to attempt to restore the registry to several points in the past to no avail
- Performing a chkdsk /r in Recovery Console does not work
- Performing a deletion of boot.ini and bootcfg /rebuild does not work either

Basically my question is, what EXACTLY/what files does the XP installation disk use to determine if a partition contains an XP installation? Does it use files in the WINDOWS directory to determine this? Does it use the registry? I want to try and force it to recognize that there is, indeed, an installation of XP so that the repair option becomes available for me to use.