SATA port shortage

BigDav

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2009
I have a new build with an Asus M4N82 Deluxe mobo (Windows 7 64bit OS).
This board has 5 internal SATA ports (with #5 port being AHCI) and one external port.
When RAID is enabled in the BIOS, the manuel says on-board ports 1-4 are by default RAID only.
Right now the RC OS is installed on a single 500GB SATA drive,
but my future plans are to install 3 SATA hard drives in RAID 5 mode, which only leaves one port
for optical drives.

My question is this...
Has anyone used an add-on PCIe card for running SATA optical drives only?
I realize that the CD, DVD or BlueRay drives installed on such a controller would not be bootable,
but this fact does not concern me at this time.
If the answer is yes, do you have a recommendation for a card that would work for Windows 7?

Thanks in advance for your time :sol:

Jonmor68

Distinguished
While I havn't used add on cards for optical drives, I have been using one for HDD's for about 3 years without a problem, it's a Silicon Image Sil 3112 SATA controller.
You could put your optical drive on the mobo controller and use the add in card for your HDD's, you can get 2 & 4 port versions.

BigDav

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2009

Thanks for the advice.
That sounds like a good solution for me. :bounce:
Does this model card run on Windows 7?

sub mesa

Distinguished
The Silicon Image SiI-3132 PCIe controller adds both PATA and SATA on PCIe x1 interface.

The JMicron JMB363 PCIe controller adds 2 SATA and 1 PATA port connected by PCIe x1.

The Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 controller supports 8 SATA devices connected by PCIe x4 (2.0GB/s).

A link to this last product:
http://www.supermicro.com/products/accessories/addon/AOC-SASLP-MV8.cfm

The good thing is it also supports Staggered Spinup, which spins up your drives more evenly and slowly, so you don't need a big power supply to make it work. Might be useful if you want to expand even further.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador