Sign in with
Your question

Newly Built PC Trouble (Pictures inside)

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
June 14, 2008 7:02:23 PM

Hi,

I've just recently purchased a load of gear to build up a new rig. I have ZERO experience building a pc, but I've used the manuals and i've got through. it's been a total nightmare.

the gear i bought was:

E8500
Striker II Formula
XFX 786mb Geforce 8800GTX
750W PSU
1gbx4 GEIL Black Dragon 8500 .. things..
Thermaltek Case

the gear i'm shafting from my OLD rig to the NEW rig is:

Baracude 160gb HDD 7200rpm (with stuff on.. XP and files etc)
and a CD rom thing.

as you can tell by my use of the word "things", i'm not a computer expert. quite the opposite. so, heres my problem:

i built this pc up, putting things in how the manuals described. took some time but i got there. then, im itching to try the power. i hooked it up to my monitor (im using a DVI to AGI (?) .. (the older one) connector from the 8800GTX into my monitor)

i set everything up, and hit the power button. and .. what do you know, it worked. kinda.

i had some trouble at first with the LCD poster reading "CPU init".. so i read some forums and reinstalled the CPU and that message went. next try the poster read "errormsg". so i took 3 of the 4 RAM sticks out, booted and got onto the bios. nosed around and came to a halt.

i saved and exited the bios hoping it would magically work. but no, when i did that im left with a black screen and no activity on-screen.

ive disclosed pictures below showing the bois settings. i REALLY dont know what the hell im doing now.

ANY help on what to change would be appriecated (dieing to play aoc :(  )

pictures:

http://img293.imageshack.us/my.php?image=imgp0359ta7.jp...

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/2709/imgp0360xs1.jpg

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/6377/imgp0361dx4.jpg

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/7663/imgp0362xx3.jpg

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/3706/imgp0363vp0.jpg