Sapphire HD3870

CircleSix

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2008
I have this gfx card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102719

And this MB: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130136

This is my first time building a PC from scratch.

So far I have gotten everything assembled (At least I think so) and I can get the computer to start running when I hit the power button. But after that I can't get any display on my screen. I'm not sure if the problem is whether the MB and GFX card aren't compatible, the monitor isn't compatible with the GFX card, or if I screwed up with the wiring.

I'll find out what type of monitor I have once I get home later tonight. If anyone can help me, thank you.

P.S. I'm not very familiar with all of the technical terms yet so a brief description would help.

Are the fans running? Any beeps? Is there a cable connected between the video card and the monitor? Is the monitor plugged in and turned on? Is the video card inserted properly? Is it connected to the PSU?

ilovebarny

Distinguished
May 27, 2008
did you reinstall your os ( operating system)?? that is a must. if you did reinstall your os try and get into safe mode ( you keep hitting the F8 key right after you push the power button) if you can get into safe mode but not windows you probably are having some kind of driver/hardware issue. you dont happen to have a 45nm processor do you?

pauldh

Illustrious

+1.

If you can't get a bios screen, it's not a driver issue.

Use the top PCI-e 16x slot (pci_ex1).

What power supply are you using? And again, is a power cable connected to the video card. Look at the 6 pin plug on the end of the card: