Sign in with
Your question

Asus P5N72-T Won't reboot without cmos clear

Last response: in Motherboards
August 26, 2008 3:09:41 PM

I'm building a new PC from scratch. I work in the IT industry, so I'm not a complete novice at such things. My specs are as follows:

Motherboard: Asus P5n72-T Premium
Processor: Intel Core2 Quad Q9450
Memory: G.Skill F2-8500CL5D DDR2-1066 (I have a total of 8GB, however am currently only running one 2GB Dimm for troubleshooting purposes)
Vid Card: PNY NVidia GeForce 9800 GX2 1024MB

I have a single SATA drive installed and a SATA DVD-RW. Everything else I have disconnected from the board for troubleshooting.

The problem that I'm having is the PC will not boot unless I clear the CMOS via the jumper on the motherboard. This includes entering the BIOS and making any changes. Once I save changes and reboot I get no display, no post beep, nothing...

I have Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit installed by just clearing the CMOS everytime I reboot. It appears to run fine while in Windows, however I did experience two lock ups at misc times.

In addition, this is not my first motherboard. The first one did the same thing and I had it replaced for the same model via Newegg. The 2nd board is doing the same exact thing.

On the old board I did update the BIOS to the newest version, also replaced the BIOS battery. This made no change. I have not yet done these things with the new board.

Any ideas? Thanks!
a b V Motherboard
August 26, 2008 3:30:35 PM

Welcome to the forums!

Is the memory at the right voltage?
Try lowering the speed of the memory to 666 MHZ.
Try alternating the memory stick.
Try a different brand of memory if you can.

a b V Motherboard
August 26, 2008 3:39:34 PM

The right voltage for your memory should be 2.0-2.1v.
Related resources
August 26, 2008 4:02:45 PM