Thermal compound setting time?

Omnirizon

Distinguished
May 21, 2009
hi all,

I'm doing my first homebuild! luck of luck, my retention module bracket broke as I was trying to install the heatsink, now I have to wait a week to get another :cry:

I've already applied the thermal compound, what's more, I've never done this before and didn't know how much to use; I used a whole 3.5g tube! OK I didn't really know how much to put on, and the instructions don't really provide any comparison metric (like, "this tube should to about 15 CPUs"); additionally, the heatsink instructions said to use "twice as much as normal" (again, without a comparison metric this didn't really mean much, but did make me think to use lots). I didn't find out till recently how much a tube is supposed to cover.

to be fair to myself, most of that didn't go onto the cpu, but various household objects that attempted to spread it with. I tried: butterknife, spoon, small peice of plastic, finally realizing a business card is the perfect applicator. Each new object consumed quite a bit of the stuff. Additionally, the heatsink was a ah heck, and it didn't feel right having to apply so much force. I stopped multiple times, took the thing off inspected it and the board and reevaluated my procedure, checked the instructions, looked online for help, etc. Each time more thermal compound came off, and I felt obliged to reapply some.

Anyway, to the point, will the compound already on the processor be usable a week from now? Should I just go ahead and remove it and reapply fresh stuff? If I should remove it, how should I do this? Is alcohol a good idea? I read it was safe for electronics.

Omnirizon

Distinguished
May 21, 2009
CPU is AMD Phenom II 720
HS is Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer

the thermal compound is tuniq tx-2, which came with the heatsink.

will alcohol do the trick of removing it?

EDIT: