Seagate HD 500GB issues lately (pics/benchmark), help

Tags:
  • Hard Drives
  • HD
  • Seagate
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
October 11, 2009 3:24:45 AM

ok i have had this hard drive for less then 2 years, i have 3 hard drives in this computer, 1x 500gb and 2x 320gb, all seagate models. I work a lot with video editing and such so i need quite a bit of space and such. My 500gb has 2 partitions (90 and 390), the 90gb has the windows and programs and the 390gb as well the other HD's all host videos or other random files i need to use.

I recently got HD Tune 3.50 and PerfectDisk 10 for defrag and such because recently the 500gb been acting up. This is the first time a HD is giving me issues so i have no experience in this but here is a few pictures of HD tune so you guys can maybe help me out figure what is the issue with the Hard drive.

Now here is the pictures for my 500gb that is giving me issues.

I took screens of one 320gb as well so you guys can see the difference

Any help to fix my 500GB would be appreciated, thank you.

More about : seagate 500gb issues pics benchmark

a c 127 G Storage
October 11, 2009 4:12:42 AM

The 500GB disk is using PIO mode, which causes very low performance and very high CPU utilization.

To fix this, go to Device Manager and delete the controller serving that drive, not the disk itself but the controller. If you delete it - it will be found when you reboot and the device will be 'reset' to use DMA or Direct Memory Access mode again.
m
l
October 11, 2009 4:42:44 AM

sub mesa said:
The 500GB disk is using PIO mode, which causes very low performance and very high CPU utilization.

To fix this, go to Device Manager and delete the controller serving that drive, not the disk itself but the controller. If you delete it - it will be found when you reboot and the device will be 'reset' to use DMA or Direct Memory Access mode again.