Sign in with
Your question

E2200 better performance than Phenom 9500?

Last response: in CPUs
August 4, 2008 12:31:49 AM

E2200 better than Phenom 9500 (for gaming?)

This weekend I decided to upgrade my 6-year+ gaming rig (3.2 Northwood, 7800GS AGP) computer this weekend, on a whim. I wanted something cheap and effective, since I don't super-game anymore (i.e. no Crysis is fine), but want to have good performance overall. Also, I've been building rigs for 10+ years, and just wanted to bring something home and use it.

So I did a crazy thing and went to a super store and looked around. The first thing I noticed is that most of the computers on shelves at Best Buy/Circuit City come pre-installed with Vista x64. From what I understand, that's not the best for games (and I use GameTap, which has issues with Vista x64).

So after some thought I picked up a Gateway with a AMD Phenom 9500...2.2GHz, 4GB DDR5300). I also picked up a nice Antec 500w power supply, since I knew I wanted to get a better card than any stock machine came with...so I picked up a PNY 8800GT.

Brought the thing home, took off all of the bloatware, cleaned it up, updated Vista, and hardware drivers...and then did some tests

* 3DMark03 : 31,000-ish
* Fear test at 1400x900, everything maxed : 22min/41avg/67max...7% under 25fps...53% between 25fps and 40fps...40% over 40fps
* Oblivion at 1400x900, everything maxed w/HDR...pretty good performance, a little choppy

Overall I wasn't blown away by the system, my 6-year old system kind of held it's own. So I started to poke around the internet forums, and found that the current line-up of AMD chips aren't totally awesome, and are kind of underwhelming. The more I read and played around with the machine, the more I decided it wasn't what I wanted, so I returned it.