4850 and vsync

andyKCIUK

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
It may be a silly question so please, bare with me as I'm new to ATI:

How can I make my 4850 to force vertical sync?

I obviously set the driver (8.5) to "always on" but it doesn't work... not in BF2 anyway.

Any ideas?

danbfree

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2008
Yes, definitely start with the newer drivers. I got lucky and heard about the "hotfix" the day i got my 4850 so I never have had that problem with it.

What OS?

I always use Vsync. I have notices that Nvidia says they can no longer force it on vista. Maybe ati can not either.

Either way. Vsync off looks and feels jumpy since parts of the screen are faster then others. It depends on the game, but in general Vsync "Performance hit" takes place outside of most(not all) users ability to see more frames anyway(60+).

ThreatDown

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2008

Because if you have an LCD and get a lot of FPS it tears badly and looks AWFUL and ruins the graphics for me.

I get constant 60 fps in games with vsync on with my 9600GT which is perfect for me and looks smooth as hell, getting more is pointless anyway as an LCD can't really display more than 60 fps and the tearing looks god awful.

copasetic

Distinguished
Jun 9, 2008
I usually keep vsync on in games, cause tearing irritates the hell out of me. But if your card can't keep up and only does, say, 50 fps while your monitor refreshes at 60 Hz, then your FPS could drop down to 30 with vsync on. That's the only time you'll take a noticeable performance hit, and obviously if your card can't keep up with your monitor there's no reason to have vsync on.

To be honest, when I replied I was thinking of Crysis. Played it once and an am playing it again on 2 different machines and opsys's. I haven't tried vsinc on in this game and I'm sure it won't help any...lol. Always thought vsinc held back in performance.