Sign in with
Your question

PC Stories: How and why did you start PC building?

Last response: in Components
August 5, 2008 3:05:16 PM

hey, im new to this game and have only done one hardware change on my PC, put in a RAM stick OOOOH EXCITING! lol :D 
i find the whole PC building thing interesting and am trying to get into it, but its all kind of overwhelming! also i wanna build my own system as i desperately need :D  but im scared about messing the whole thing up lol :D  wires etc, and also i havnt a clue about bios :S btw im 15 and so havnt been to college to have opportunity to use and learn, if ya get what i mean.

what im asking of you is a lil bit of info of when you started, when you build your first machine, were you a newb when you build ur first? all stuff like that ya know, to give me a bit of back up FOR THEIR IS HOPE! lol also did you feel the same way as i am now...???
cheers
btw, im not sure where i should have posted this :S

More about : stories start building

August 5, 2008 3:28:19 PM

Better machine for less money... Building a computer is more like putting a 2nd grade puzzle together, all the pieces are pretty big and can usually only go in one way. There's reallyno reason to be intimidated , just take your time and read your manuals when stuck on something. It really isn't brain surgery.
August 5, 2008 3:48:31 PM

I started the building of my own customer PC's after I saw how much better a friends ran the original Counter Strike and I so badly wanted to run the game as well as him. I was in 7th grade at the time. I at first couldnt afford a new PC, so I did everything that I possibly could to improve my performance (defrag, tweak OS, OC, etc...)

Then I was able to get a few upgrades for my comptuer, which made things run so much better and after I saw the performance increase and how easy it was I started constantly reading up about the hardware to run games.