I need help about the q6600

john_antonio

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2008
I need help on q6600..I just bought it and i'm a beginner in pc build..I bought the retail one because i'm a little tight on budget so I thought of sticking with the stock cooler...I don't plan in overclocking, and i'm wondering if the stock cooler will do fine? I read some reviews on the internet that the stock fan does not cool enough..should I get an aftermarket one? Please help...Thanks!

NMDante

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2002
The stock HSF will be fine, as long as you ensure that the push pins, that hold the HSF, are pushed thoroughly, ensuring proper contact with CPU heatspreader.

It's a well known fact that the retail Intel HSF push pins are just plain horrible, and have been known to look properly installed, yet are not, causing heating issues (not so much overheating, but higher than usual temps).

The retail HSF should be fine for the non-overclocker, but getting a 3rd party HSF will be better than the retail HSF, or at least, should be better.

john_antonio

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2008
Is the 3 piece thing applied underneath the stock hsf is the pre applied thermal paste?should i apply an aftermarket paste?or not anymore?

BlackKnight7891

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2008
thermal paste is applied to the cpu once its inserted into the motherboard. the thermal pastes sole job is to fill in the small inperfections of the metal surface to improve contact and heat transfer you only need a thin layer otherwise it wont work as well as it should.
the intel stock cooler should simply sit on top of the cpu with the push pins lining up with the holes on the motherboard, they dont require any mounting pieces installed first

NMDante

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2002
Yes, the 3 piece "hopefully, grey" substance should be the thermal material. You can use a 3rd party thermal paste, but you will need to clean off the material off the HSF. It's not necessary, but you can if you wish too.

john_antonio

Distinguished