How Do I Find Out What is Crashing My PC?

JD45093

Distinguished
May 19, 2009
I have an Rig with these specs:

CPU: Core i7 920 @ 3.3Ghz Base Clock 160 VCore Standard
CPU Heat sink: Standard
GPU: XFX GTX 260 Black Edition
Memory: 3Gb Crucial 1066 @ 1260 because of Base clock Can I fix?
MOBO: EVGA X58
PSU: Rosewill 950Watt
Case Antec 900

How can I figure out what is crashing my PC thanks.

Hypered

Distinguished
May 28, 2009
Are voltage settings at auto?

also knowing what your temps are (idle and load) as well as when it's BSOD'ing (on boot up, setting idle, running something....) would help.

JD45093

Distinguished
May 19, 2009
Not trying to be blunt but I did put in the original post that the CPU was a stock voltage. The CPU on idle runs at 43C Cores and 27C through the motherboard and at load 76C and 64C respectively . The GPU runs at 40C idle and 83C FurMark.

ghb70005

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2007
I’m no expert like these guys but check the event viewer. Look in the system errors, the last error prior to crash might be the associated component. Then troubleshoot from there.

MaDMagik

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2008
Blunt? Maybe you should learn to read. Nobody asked if it was at stock voltage.

The question was, DOES IT CRASH AT STOCK SPEEDS???
Dude, what is it with you? Have you actually replied to anybody without being sarcastic or patronising?
Maybe you should realize that youre not the only one that asked him a question, and that to many auto=stock

Raviolissimo

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2006

i think it's important to give yourself the same tools as you would have as if you were a professional computer tech, trying to solve this kind of problem. makes it less stressful.

besides some of things people will mention (e.g., Memtest, a way to test your RAM), it's good to have a spare power supply, power supply, and video card, to help narrow it down (process of elimination) if diagnostic software doesn't tell you which is going on.