I need help OC Intel i7 920 & P6T Deluxe V2

jimothyk

Distinguished
May 28, 2009
Can anyone please give me some pointers on how to best set up OC for my gear?

I OC'd using "Gatorbill's" set up and I saw temps in the mid 90's [ouch!] I know I should probably look at reapplying better quality grease or something but in the meantime, I'd like to be able to boost my machine for it's specs to remain stable, safe but still more powerful than 2.67GHZ.

I ran prime95 for like, 28mins and my temps never reached higher than 67C @ 2.80GHZ [in full auto bios settings]

Any help???

Cheers.

PS... I'm a total noob when it comes to OC so detailed help is required for my set up specifically if possible. Thanks.

J

Intel i7 920
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Corsair DDR3 PC-10600 XMS 3x240pin 9-9-9-24
Gigabyte GTX260 896MB
Antec Nine Hundred Two case
Antec 750W PSU
Zalman CNPS9900 [copper] CPU Cooler
Samsung 1TB SATA 32m 7200RPM HDD

jimothyk

Distinguished
May 28, 2009
Hey to be perfectly honest... I have no idea.

I have been running the OC functions in my BIOS on "Auto" and I have been seeing speeds up to 2.8Ghz "see images below"

Today, I am buying some Artic Silver 5 Thermal Grease and a Patriot Vortex Memory Cooling fan to help with the temps, cause I had been reaching temps in the mid 90's when I clocked up to 3.7Ghz using Gatorbill's [see settings list below] posted settings. I have a 120mm exhaust fan on the side of my case in addition to the 4 standard fans that come with the Antec Nine Hundred Two case also.

Gatorbill's posted settings;

AI Tweaker Menu
----------------------
Ai Overclock Tuner => Manual
Intel Speed Step Tech => Disabled (this just makes the CPU clock frequency change depending on load and I want a steady CPU clock)
Intel Turbo Tech => Disabled (this just makes the CPU clock frequency change depending on load and I want a steady CPU clock)
CPU Ratio => Auto
BCLK Freq => 186
PCIE Freq => 100
DRAM Freq => DDR3-1491MHz
UCLK Freq => Auto