Sign in with
Your question

Looking for help overclocking E6550 - Lots of details included.

Last response: in Overclocking
May 31, 2009 8:11:08 AM

So I want to lower the RAM speed to DDR667, then increase the CPU freq from 333MHz to 400MHz.

The problem is, I don't know how to do this.

Here are my specs:

Mobo: Gigabyte LGA 775
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

RAM: DDR2 4GB

Processor: Intel Duo E6550

Picture of my Bios now:
http://i44.tinypic.com/cl0mx.jpg

My temp is about 38C right now, I am using a Zerotherm heatsink and thermal paste.

As I said, I am new to this and I know what I want to do, I just need direction on how to do it.

I appreciate your time, and I thank you in advance for helping me out
a b K Overclocking
May 31, 2009 2:21:25 PM

You need to set the CPU Host Frequency to 333, that will put you back to stock settings for your processor.
Then change the memory mulitplier to something other than AUTO. As it is your memory is running at 960mhz.

Follow the guide shown here: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/240001-29-howto-overc...
m
l
May 31, 2009 2:33:18 PM

You need to do some research before you attempt anything. What you are asking doesn't match at all with your bios pic. In that pic, your RAM is rated for 800MHz and is currently running at 480MHz (not 667). Your FSB (CPU host frequency) is set to 200 (not 333) with a multiplier of 7 which gives your processor a speed of 1.4GHz (7*200)

I'm far from being an established overclocker but even I know that you are a long way from where you want to be. Try reading the sticky written by Graysky at the top of this forum and then google/wiki all the things you don't understand and then google looking for threads that may pertain to your CPU and mobo. It helped me to write down the circuit diagram of a computer (found it on wiki I think) and make notes on what does what and why and how.