AKM880

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2009
So in my signature you might see the 1.8GHz O/Ced to 2.28. The RAM is O/Ced as well since it is a software overclock. Since this is a Dell motherboard BIOS overclock is not a option.

I've ran OCCT on large data sets for 2 hours, and Prime 95 for 12+ hours. Should I be worried and disable the software overclock?

the1tarheel

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2008
It seems to be a stable OC and if your temps are in a safe range, I say keep it there. :hello:

Box systems (store bought) seem to run hotter as they are built to a lower level of heat dissipation

HavoCnMe

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2009
On the networking side of things (hardware) is always better than (software). Example: Windows Firewall(software) vs. Sonicwall Firewall(Hardware). Hardware wins ever time. And just to let you know i am new to OCing, but somethings never change.

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008
I think AMD overdrive is the only software I would ever use, and other than that I wouldn't use software. AMD Overdrive lets you select you actual voltages, multipliers and bus speed ect, so it takes care of most of the shortcomings of most overclocking software, however overclocking in windows is not something I would do if I could help it.

AKM880

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2009
Well, ClockGen only starts when the OS is started, and even if I set it to "apply clocks at startup", its ask me if I want to run CG anyways before it actually applies any clock settings. Could ClockGen produce a hardware problem of some sort?

xaira

Distinguished
i no how ya feel my msi board wont let me post at anything above stock when i set in bios 2.3ghz but once in windows i hit 3.1 ghz easy, ur oc is safe once everything is within temp limits, right now i hav 3gb 533 rated to run at 4-4-4-12 running at 667 with 4-4-3-10. nice oc on the sempron, if its a 65nm you should be able to push it further.

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008