please help with an upgrade....

hello all.. well i'm not a complete newb when it comes to PC's But i feel overwhelmed with all the options and information thats out there.. here is my predicament
I'm a gamer and i'm looking to get the best graphics and the best performance i could get.. here is my current rig.

CPU: Amd Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ 2.61

Memory: A-DATA 4.00GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit

Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
(new Bio's support AM2+)

Video Card: ZOTAC ZT-98XES2P-FCP GeForce 9800 GTX 512MB 256-bit GDDR3

Power Supply: Antec True Power Trio 650w

I'm a complete Newb to over clocking since i fried my last pc when i tried it for the 1st time.. so i'm a little scared

i run my games at 1680 X 1050

I'm looking to upgrade my CPU but im unsure wither to go with a Dual Core with a Higher Speed or to Get a quad-core...

here are the 2 candidates i have...

Either:AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor

or

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor

which should i get.. also whats a good air cooling fan just in case i decide to Over Clock.. any input would greatly appreciated..
I'm torn and confused between the two...
8 answers Last reply
More about please upgrade
  1. You'd be better off with the X2 6000.

For a good HSF I recommend the XIGMATEK S1283.
  2. Shadow703793 said:
    You'd be better off with the X2 6000.

thank you so much... so you think i'd get better performance fromthe x2 6000.. even with games that support multithreading?
  3. I don't think you'll see much if any noticeable gaming difference with that little of a CPU upgrade (either one).
  4. Mondoman said:
    I don't think you'll see much if any noticeable gaming difference with that little of a CPU upgrade (either one).

Agreed. Your money would be better spent on a second video card. Your PSU and MB already support that.