Problem with ICH9R RAID 5 storage array

chadrandom

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2008
Hello everyone,

Firstly, I'm a noob to posting, so I hope I've put this thread in the right place. Apologies up front if I have left anything out.

I recently switched from Vista to XP and now my RAID 5 storage array is not recognized by Windows. Details below, full system info at bottom...

I have a 2 disk RAID 1 boot array and a 4 disk RAID 5 storage array, controlled by my motherboard's Intel ICH9R controller.

I deleted the boot disk (2 Raptors in RAID 0) which contained Windows Vista Ultimate (32 bit).

Then I created a new boot disk (2 Raptors in a RAID 1).

Then I installed Windows XP Pro (32 bit) and updated to Service Pack 3. NOTE: I do not have a a floppy drive, nor any IDE hard disks. Installation was accomplished through use of nLite slipstreaming Intel Matrix Storage Manager drivers into the installation.

THE PROBLEM: Windows XP Pro SP3 will not recognize the RAID 5 storage array after changing the operating system on the boot array. Neither Windows Explorer, nor Disk Manager recognizes the RAID 5 array. I have no access to the data through Windows.

Intel Matrix Storage Manager recognizes the RAID 5 array in the following manner...
- System: Volume: No (I don't know exactly what this means, but I'm wondering if it is a key element to my problem?)
- Volume Write-Back Cache Enabled: No
- RAID Level: RAID 5 (striping with parity)
- Strip Size: 64 KB
- Size: 2095.9 GB
- Physical Sector Size: 512 Bytes
- Logical Sector Size: 512 Bytes
- Number of Hard Drives: 4
- Hard Drive Member 1: SAMSUNG HD753LJ
- Hard Drive Member 2: SAMSUNG HD753LJ
- Hard Drive Member 3: SAMSUNG HD753LJ
- Hard Drive Member 4: SAMSUNG HD753LJ
- Parent Array: Array_0000

I have right clicked and run the "Verify and Repair Volume Data" option for this array, but this makes no change to Windows' behavior.