Any good pci 2.2 sound cards out there?

V3NOM

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
:hello: hi all!
never posted in the sound card section before :??: unfamiliar territory and many new faces...

anywho, im gettin an evga 750i FTW mobo, and it only has pci 2.2 slots not 2.3... are there any 2.2 cards out there that anyone knows of? lookin to fill em up :kaola:

dobby

Distinguished
May 24, 2006
backward forward compatible i think.
just get a ASUS zonar. that will give you best bang for buck, support all the top standards and it doesnt use creative chips, win win.

V3NOM

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
what's wrong with creative chips? i thought they were hte market leaders, lol...im kind of new to the whole sound card thing i have always used onboard sound with my previous rigs

halcyon

Splendid
V3nom, there's a strong anti-Creative sentiment amongst many. This often is at least due to a past history of poor driver support and the intentional disabling of features in Vista that were available in XP. A driver modder, Daniel Kawakami, modded some of Creative's drivers to restore functionality that Creative said was impossible to reinstate in Vista. Then Creative pretty much threatened to rape him legally ( http://infsq.co.uk/2008/05/25/creative-and-the-daniel-k-saga/ ). It was not pretty and cost Creative a lot of loyal customers.

In the end it caused Creative to cave-in and not only provide rock-solid drivers in Vista but to do what they initially said was impossible...to re-instate features for its cards in Vista that they'd said was impossible...Dolby Digital and DTS, etc.

Its unfortunate this the scenario had to play out like it did but in the end the customers made out with very nice drivers from Creative...finally.

The other problem with Creative is thier products don't like nForce motherboard very well; After about an hour, the sounds comming from the card will come out scratchy (and Creative seems to have no idea how to fix it...).

halcyon

Splendid