I think my system is underperforming, need help identifying the cause.

XI Stormcrow IX

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2009
EVGA 780i Mobo
Q9300 @ 2.5Ghz ( OC'd to 3.0Ghz)
EVGA 9800GX2 Graphics Card
Corsair 4GB XMS2 DDR2 800mhz RAM

These are the culprits that compose my rig. I am relatively new at OC'ing, as evidenced by my 3.0 clock. My problem however is not related to overclocking entirely. At stock processor speeds of 2.5Ghz, I post 12001 on 3dmark06. With an OC to 2.87Ghz, I post 13178, and with my current OC I post 13997. I have looked at many other forums out there and I have seen people with similar rigs benching nearly 16 or 17k with a similar OC. I have never posted on a forum before in my life, but I have read many articles that were extremely well written and informative on here before, and I am hoping that I can get some help as well. Thank you!!

hundredislandsboy

Distinguished
What multiplier and bus speed for the OC setting? What are the RAM settings?
By that score, I wouldn't say your system is underperforming. I'd say maybe it's even slightly above average. Your CPU holding back your scores due to it's low multiplier and difficulty to get past 430 - 440 fsb. If you can borrow a friend's e8400, that motherboard will easily run it to 4 Ghz (9 x 444 or 8 X 500) and you'll see your scores past 18K!

XI Stormcrow IX

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2009
Hey, thanks for the reply guys, that was quick!!