Sign in with
Your question

Windows xp hard drive limit

Last response: in Storage
October 22, 2009 3:18:07 PM

I have an xp hard drive with 11 GB. The drive is totally Full. How and what can I safely remove to free up some space?
a b G Storage
October 22, 2009 3:31:00 PM

Run a drive cleaning program like ccleaner. Also run a duplicate file finder if you have data on there.

October 22, 2009 3:48:00 PM

Thank you for this info. I just tried to download ccleaner, but, I do not have enough free space to download it.
I tried to uninstall Adobe to free up 200 MB or so.. (reinstall later) but, when I try to uninstall Adobe, I get this message "You do not have enough space to 'IINSTALL' Adobe" Strange! Any idea on this.... and / or any suggestion on what I could uninstall temporarily? Thank you.
Related resources
a b G Storage
October 22, 2009 3:55:26 PM

Clone the disk to a bigger one with Acronis True Image or similar.
October 22, 2009 4:11:19 PM

I'm not experienced with flash drives.. in fact, I'm not sure what it is. I do have a 2nd notebook computer.. would it be possible to download ccleaner to that computer and then perform the function with ccleaner on my other notebook?

I tried to uninstall Adobe (about 200 mb) from add and remove, and when I clicked on remove... I was asked to confirm that I wanted to uninstall adobe... I confirmed... a second later this message hit: You do not have enough capacity to "INSTALL" abobe,.. Any other ideas on what I might temporarily remove? Thx.
October 22, 2009 4:39:56 PM

1780007,5,82092 said:
You can put this on a flash drive and run it from there:

CCleaner Portable 2.24.1010

http://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABLE-SOFTWARE/Security...[/quotemsg

evongugg, with your indulgence, could you explain the procedure to clone the disk to a bigger one with Acronis True Image?
Thank you.

a b G Storage
October 23, 2009 12:02:53 PM

Install the program.
Hook up the new disk together with the old disk.