build now or wait for nehalem

revstar20

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2008
Hi guys im new to forum but i have been following this site for years it always has valuable information.
I need your help its to hard to decide wheather or not to build a new pc now or hold off till the end of
the year and build a pc using a nehalem cpu.Intel will be releasing this baby at the end of the year more
than likely next year and it will be most likely be an extreme edition costing around $1300.00 aussie dollar
which i will not be able to afford. Im no expert when it comes to computers but the end of intels fsb is
5 years overdue and will make a huge difference to overall system performance we will be able to take
advantage of dd3.Am i right in saying current cpu's and mobo's are not taking advantage of high end ddr3 because
fsb is not high high enough unless fsb is overclocked to take advantage of the of higher data transfer rates
which just adds another question do i get a ddr3 board( which will have no support for nehalem cpu's) with
dd3 memory and cpu with 1333 bus speed or higher.

Current system:
operating system: Windows vista Ultimate
Cpu: Intel pentium d 940 not a great cpu but works well with vista
Mobo: GA-81945GMF does the job lol
Graphics: xfx 8600gts

pc i wish to build:
Operating system: Windows vista ultimate
Cpu: intel quad core Q9450 or Q9300
mobo: Asus P5e3- deluxe dd3 motherboard
Graphics: xfx gtx260 a little over my budget reveiws are not that good will do more reading
ram: corsair 1333mhz 2gig
case: coolmaster cosmos
power supply: undecided
hardrive: Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ i alway get a bad hardrive this 1 is from a article on this site

any sugestions would be appreciated

BadMannerKorea

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
buy new pc dude. when neha comes out it will be expensive. so youre looking at a big time gap from now, the time its relased and the price drops.

GlacierFreeze

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2006