Sign in with
Your question

Advice on my build

Last response: in Systems
June 25, 2008 10:05:45 PM

Hi, I'm returning to building my own PC after a 7 year gap, I hardly recognise anything anymore, so please consider me a novice and go easy on me :) 

After research and much umming and aahhing I've got down my first attempt at a build. Bear in mind I have no hardware of my own so I have to buy everything.

I'm aiming for a PC that can do a couple of things (in no particular order):
  • Be very quick at compiling .net code (I'm a developer by profession and often have to do some work at home, and for fun too!)
  • Gaming
  • Room for expansion
  • Relatively quiet
  • Stability

My budget is around £1500 sterling.

• Antec P182 Gunmetal Grey Super Mid Tower Case - No PSU
  • Enermax Modu82+ 625W Modular PSU - 82+% Efficiency Certified, 4x PCI-E, ATXv2.3
  • Western Digital 300GB 2.5" Hard Drive SATAII 16MB Cache 10000rpm Velociraptor - OEM
  • Samsung SM245B 24" TFT Monitor Widescreen 1920x1200 3000:1 400cd/m2 5ms H/Adjust VGA/DVI-D Black
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Energy Efficient 95W edition Socket 775 (2.40GHz) G0 Stepping L2 8MB Cache OEM Processo
  • Optiarc AD-7200S 20X DVD±RW/DL/RAM Internal SATA Bare Black Drive - OEM
  • OCZ 4GB Kit (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 Reaper Memory HPC Edition Dual Channel
  • Asus P5N32-E SLI Socket 775 Nforce 680i SLI FSB1333 Audio Firewire ATX Motherboard
  • ASUS 8800GTS 512MB DDR3 Dual DVI HDCP HDTV out PCI-E Graphics Card
  • Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + fan
  • Acoutsic foam

This is taking me to about £1400 (including keyboard, mouse, os and some other sundries)

Reasons for some of the choices:

Fast hard disk speeds up visual studio no end, as does the 4gb of memory (I will have Vista 64bit)
    CPU is still best bang for buck, quad core for faster compiles, and is still ok for gaming?
    SLI motherboard to buy me some time before I have to upgrade so I can bang another card in later