E5200 M0 high temperatures

megatherium3000

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2009
Hey everybody, I'm new to this forum

I'm running an E5200 at 3.6ghz on an MSI p43 Neo-f motherboard with a Nexus Xir 3500 cooler. It's stable at 1.28 volts but runs hot, at 40 idle and up 70 under load.

Is this normal? I've tried taking off the cooler and reapplying a small amount of thermalpaste (using the stuff that came with it, would better stuff make a big difference?) but this only shifted temperatures by 1 degree.

Have also tried lowering fsb to 280mhz and using 12.5 multiplier and this made no difference.
It just seems like very high temperatures for such a big cooler (cooler I would have thought is overkill as it costs almost as much as the CPU) and only 1.28 volts?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, this is my first time overclocking.

ps temperatures were gotten using OCCT and real temp, speedfan actually reports 2-3 degrees higher.

E5200 M0 @3.6ghz (328mhz bus x11)
MSI Neo-F p43
4gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer @860mhz
640gb Caviar Black
Thermaltake armour w/25cm fan
Corsair 750W PSU
Geforce 8800gs
Nexus Xir 3500 cpu cooler

megatherium3000

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2009
oh ok, it just seemed that others posted lower temperatures or clock speeds up to 4ghz, and I thought I'd get similar before having to call it quits.
thanks for replies

megatherium3000

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2009
Well I took it off and put it back on already and it didn't make any difference, it seems secure but I'm not really sure how to check if it's seated properly.

I do have the stock HSF laying around, is there any point in trying that to see if it's better?

megatherium3000

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2009
Hey I just checked my bios, it reports an idle temperature of 28 degrees. But realtemp, occt and speedfan all report idle of 39-43? Maybe the problem is that they are all somehow not picking up the temperature correctly, is that possible?

CompuTronix

Intel Master
megatherium3000,