Sign in with
Your question

I do file saves all day at 50 gig a time...How do I speed it up?

Tags:
  • NAS / RAID
  • Storage
  • Product
Last response: in Storage
October 27, 2009 12:55:56 PM

In work, a lot of my time is taken up doing file saves. Transporting video files in many formats via ethernet to my raid HD.

My PC is about 3 years old, so I figured since then something faster has come I can plug into the SATA connector.

I was looking at the 15.2k drives today and wondered if they were compatible?

I just want to speed up these file saves that can take over an hour so any suggestions that are around $300-$500 would be welcome. :wahoo: 

Do you recommend a benchmark that will tell me how fast or slow my current setup is to see if it is even worth it?

More about : file saves day gig time speed

October 27, 2009 3:41:56 PM

I'm no computer expert but,... What type of network cards/hub/routers are you using?

A good network card and a good router should support up to 100MB easy.

100MB sec > 1GB 10sec > 60GB 60sec.

I dunno, i'd wonder why it isn't faster on your network.
m
l
October 27, 2009 5:42:56 PM

its all a matter of bottlenecks

what kind/s of harddrives are you moving your files from? what type of RAID are they in?
what type of cable are you using to transfer from point a to b? are other workmates using that same cable to transfer their info at the same time?
and lastly what kind of harddrives are at point b? what type of RAID?

new 500GB harddrives typicaly have a sustained read of about 100MB/s on the outer edge and fall to rughly 60MB/s as you fill the drive up.

according to my calculations if it takes just over an hour to transfer 50GB to your RAID then you appear to be using a 100Megabit (12.5MegaByte/sec) connection, which will be your bottleneck.

one rather important question is where are the RAID harddrives in relation to your main computer?