Sign in with
Your question

Core i7 920 D0 OC w ASUS P6T Deluxe V2. BIOS examples - comments?

Last response: in Overclocking
June 21, 2009 11:49:23 PM

All,

I am getting close to being satisfied with my system. I never OC-ed before and this was something I wanted to try, so I made sure I got the D0 to have the newer revision. I've been reading for the past 2 days on what has worked for people and wanted to share my experiences. Please comment on any of my findings if you believe I'm incorrect. I'm a noob at OC-ing. I have to say, I should have started small and worked my way up, but I went in reverse order, just to see if I could get it stable at 4Ghz first.

Before I go into the OC details, I want to add that I have a TRUE 120 Extreme RT1366 with 2 Thermalright 1600 RPM fans. I also have the following memory (6GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 CL 8-8-8-21)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231247

When I initially built the system, I had to set the timing of this memory properly.

In the ASUS P6T BIOS, when you set it to DDR3-1600 it is important to know that the BIOS will set the voltage to 1.8V (thanks to TurboV for showing this) if you leave the DRAM BUS Voltage to [Auto]. You have to manually set this to 1.60 to avoid running the memory at 1.8V since Intel warns about going past 1.6V. In the images in my 3 examples below, you will find how I manually forced the memory to 1.6V while retaining the 1600Mhz setting. Memory posts fine at 1600 with the adjusted voltage.

First Attempt:
Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
CPU Ratio: 20
Intel Speedstep Tech: Disabled
BCLK: 200 (200 x 20 would give me 4 Ghz)
DRAM Frequency: DDR3 - 1603Mhz (Once you change the CPU Ratio and BCLK, you have to manually tone this back to the 1600 range)
CPU Voltage: 1.33125 (When left at stock, system would post but prime would BSOD after 5 minutes. Increased this and just matched the settings for QPI/DRAM Core Voltage)
CPU PPL Voltage: 1.80
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage: 1.33125