Q9450 and PQ5-E on Dark Knight

CottyGee

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2009
Howdy.

I'm an overclock Noob. Last time I messed with OCing was on a Pentium 133 that I couldn't get to go to 150 even with a peltier - back when it was done with jumpers on the MoBo. So, it's a bit like wandering into a neighborhood you visited 20 years ago and getting lost! :lol:

I've read the guides and started trying to fiddle. Increased the FSB from stock (333 mhz IIRC?) to 400, all else @ default values. It booted and ran Prime for an hour (blended) and then I tried 500, then 450, then 425, then 410, then 405 and ended up at 400 again. Increased voltage and still was stuck at 400 for the FSB. Tweaked RAM timings (I think!), and turned off a coupla things the stickied guide said to turn off and turned on a coupla things that were off. Ran blended all night, and temps weren't terrible. Still tweaking voltage down. I think my max temp at ambient 76ºF (24.4ºC) TJMax as reported by CoreTemp (I think) was 68ºC or 69ºC w/ voltage set in BIOS at the Q9450 specified 1.3625 "max" (reporting as ~1.31 in CPU-Z).

Googled for info on the Q9450 w/ the PQ5-E, and came up basically empty.

Anybody runnin' this rig that can give me some starting point BIOS values? Since much of the terminology in the guides differs from the names of the values in my BIOS, I'm floundering trying to figure out what to change and by how much.

Here are details on the rig:
■ Q9450
■ P5Q-E
■ Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V
■ MSI N9600GT 512M OC (Factory OC'd; Core Clock=700MHz, Memory Clock=1900MHz)
■ SeaSonic M12D SS-750 750W
■ Ambient will run as high as 82ºF, w/ Antec TX640B case LOADED w/ 7 (seven) fans, but box will be in a somewhat enclosed space (~4" clearance for side intake ports, and ~6" clearance in back w/ decent sized 'escape' route for heat).