Your question

Graphic Card Question

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Monitors
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 16, 2008 9:32:35 PM

I have a quick question here. I have a Asus mobo with SLI. I have purchased a 9800 GX2 to fit into one slot. I am a graphic designer by trade and I like having multiple monitors going. I was wondering if I could add another in-expensive graphics card to the second PCI-E slot, for perhaps 2 other monitors?

So the setup (as I would think of it):

9800 GX2 - running a 24 inch monitor in dual-gpu mode.

8800 GTS - running two smaller monitors on each side of the main 24 inch monitor and be able to cross between monitors like a dual monitor (or tri) setup would usually work.

Also be able to turn-off the extra graphics card for gaming, or would I need not to do that.

Actually I should just find out if this could work?

Oh and I am running Vista 64.

More about : graphic card question

a b U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
July 16, 2008 9:48:46 PM

Think I read a thread on Tom's before saying this was possible. I had thought SLI required two identical graphics cards. But perhaps that's only if you want to use them both simultaneously for one project (or game). You might do a search for it.
July 16, 2008 9:55:12 PM

The 9800 GX2 is a SLI card in one slot. I would NOT turn on SLI on the motherboard, just leave it as is. So I guess thats the question does SLI have to be on for the second card to kick in? I am not looking to trying to SLI a 9800 GX2 and a 8800 GTS I just want to use the 8800 for a monitor mule.
Related resources
July 16, 2008 10:00:51 PM

that's kinda waste of $ then...use a cheaper 8400 for a mule in that case.
July 16, 2008 10:04:17 PM

8800 GTS was my old card.

Anybody help find an answer?
a c 176 U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
July 16, 2008 10:16:57 PM