Sign in with
Your question

How to set up Intel Matrix Storage?

Last response: in Storage
October 29, 2009 4:57:02 PM

I just built my computer and am trying to set up an Intel Matrix with two arrays on two hdds, raid 0 and raid 1. I have zero experience with raid however.

I have two questions: First should windows be installed on the raid 0 or 1?

Second: How do you create the Matrix array. I currently have the full two hdds set to raid 1. Do I partition them and set the other partition to raid 0 somehow? I'm just having trouble figuring out the intel matrix storage manager.
a b G Storage
October 30, 2009 1:06:22 PM

If you have only 2 hard disks you cannot combine RAID0 and RAID1.
You need 4 hard disks to have both RAIDs.
m
l
October 30, 2009 3:29:11 PM

No, this is the whole point of intel's matrix raid. You can have matching partitions of two hdds set to raid 1, then the rest as raid 0. I just cant figure out how to set it up. Anyone have experience with matrix raid?

http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets/matrixstorage_sb.h...

"When using two hard drives, matrix RAID allows RAID 0 and RAID 1 functions to be combined, where critical files can be stored on RAID 1, and RAID 0 can be used for non-critical items such as software."
m
l
Related resources
a c 127 G Storage
November 3, 2009 12:08:18 AM

You need 4 harddisks for RAID0+1 or RAID1+0, but you want to have RAID1 on the first partition and RAID0 on the second partition; that's possible with Intel MatrixRAID and is a sleek feature not offered by other onboard RAIDs as far as i know.

I don't have personal experience setting this up though, but can't you enter the RAID BIOS setup utility and configure this?
m
l
November 3, 2009 12:40:43 AM