Sign in with
Your question

Complete noob needs help

Last response: in Overclocking
June 24, 2009 8:52:50 PM

new here so firstly to say hi to all. sorry if under wrong topic
hopefully, someone can advise me (a complete overclocking noob/idiot) as to what i need to do to overclock my 7750be on an Asus M2N-E (non sli) mobo, with bios 1701. read that 3.0gig was easily achievable on this set up changing the multiplier only to 15. did this and got bsod when machine was converting divx to dvd (too stressful?). changed multiplier down to 14.5 and all ok. would like to know what i need to change to get to 3.2gigish and stable. using 2x2gig 800mhz corsair ddr2 ram (windows xp shows 3gig ram). anyone advise me please?
TIA

More about : complete noob

June 25, 2009 1:21:39 AM

Check out the excellent overclocking guides among the forum stickies.
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
June 25, 2009 1:28:15 AM

Well... we don't actually have a Phenom guide. It would be nice to give the old A64 guide the flick and replace it.
Related resources
June 26, 2009 7:18:30 AM

tnx guys. no disrespect intended, obviously, but i have read and read and read posts and guides on here and other places until i just cant read any more. i dont think i am by any means thick, but i just dont understand what i am reading. i appreciate that there will be differences because of different boards or chips or ram etc that is being used. however, to do just basic overclocking, surely there must be some sort of general formula that applies to all, but is then tweaked by the 'experts' for the more serious stuff?
June 26, 2009 11:03:02 AM