alidan

Splendid
Aug 5, 2009
ok, my motherboard has sata 1.5 i believe.

im looking to buy a controller for sata 3.0

however, i want to know if i can make my computer boot with it?

like say i get a new hard drive, no windows at all, can i install windows to the 3.0?

i am completely new to installing something like this, please ask questions and ill answer them to the best of my ability.

and also, i'm sorry if this isn't where i should be asking this, but this seamed like the best place

sub mesa

Distinguished
You posted this in the correct forum.

SATA/300 or 3.0Gbps is compatible with SATA/150 or 1.5Gbps; it works the same there is little difference except the speed. Note however no harddrive exists that really gets any speed benefit from using 3.0Gbps, since harddrives cannot achieve 150MB/s yet.

So if you get SATA/300, the cable can transfer up to 300MB/s, but the drive itself will still be limited to 50 - 125MB/s. If you're doing this for speed, don't have any expectations that SATA/300 will be any faster.

alidan

Splendid
Aug 5, 2009
im doing this because the hard drive im considering buying to replace the pos Seagate thats writing at 1.5-3mb/sec is a sata 300 drive, and i need to boot a floppy to switch it over to 1.5 and i cant do that unless i have the controller. here ill post the links

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=22-152-175&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&Pagesize=100&SelectedRating=3&PurchaseMark=&VideoOnlyMark=False&VendorMark=&Keywords=

that has what im talking about in it, thats the drive i want but q95 told the problem that drive has.

this is the drive i have that i need to replace
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148337
god, look at all the negatives about that drive.

of all the 1.5tb drives the samsung has the lest negative things said about it

sub mesa

Distinguished