Newbie building a Q9400 or Q9550

zero3one

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
I'm fairly new to this and I've been doing a lot of reading in the last month but the more I read the more complex this is becoming so I'll ask it here...

I plan on building a new computer soon to replace the one I lost when my house was flooded from a burst water line. I plan on building something with either a q9400 or q9550. Can anyone offer any advice or input into these two processors? Is the q9550 worth the extra money?

As well, my options for video cards and motherboards are still open if anyone has any suggestions. I'm leaning heavily to an ATI HD4850.

Thanks!

Nik_I

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2007
the Q9550 has twice as much L2 cache (12MB). that would translate to better performance. and the 4850 is a great card. i have one and it's amazing. if you plan on gaming on a 24"+ monitor, the 4870 would be a better buy though.

pbrigido

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2008
I agree with Nik_I. The Q9550 is a great CPU. It overclocks easy, runs cool, great performance, and the 12mb of cache is a great step up.

zero3one

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
Thank you all for the input, this certainly makes things easier. This system will be mostly for surfing but will also do some light gaming so I'd like to get a lot of potential out of it.

Fly2hip8, funny you should suggest that motherboard, it's the exact one I was looking at for my build. Thank you.

How much difference will ram make? I'm looking at:

OCZ (OCZ2P10664GK) DDR2 PC2-8500 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB(2x2048) Dual Channel Kit

and

Patriot Viper Series DDR2 PC2-8500 1066MHz 4GB (2x2GB) CL 5-5-5-15 Enhanced Latency DIMM Kit (PVS24G8500ELKR2)

fly2hip8

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2007
I've had bad luck with the patriot viper series. It would not even post at stock settings. Even with a bump in voltage. About a week after I purchased them the memory got all sort of bad reviews and eventually newegg took it off their website.