Sign in with
Your question

K9A2 Platinum phenom II Overclocking?

Last response: in Overclocking
July 8, 2009 6:03:43 PM

I have a msi K9A2 Platinum and a phenom II 955

I am new to overclocking and this is my first build

Can someone please tell me what settings for the bios I need to use to get the cpu running at 3.7GHz or higher :o 

PS:I am using an AMI bios at version 1.8 :hello: 
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
July 11, 2009 5:05:27 AM

Do you really need to overclock? Your CPU is running at 3.2Ghz. But if you must, make sure you have a good cooler. (Not a stock cooler)
There should be a clock multiplier option in your bios or something like that. Mine is called "CPU Clock Ratio"
It is normally set on "Auto" when you build a new PC. See what yours is set to. Mine is set to x15.5 by default.

(When you start to change it, it will say the speed for the corresponding setting. When you get to a setting that shows your default or stock speed, start raising it from there.)

Tip: When Overclocking never jump to high speeds, raise slowly by 100Mhz every time. Test it to see if it's stable at every setting. When you get to a setting you like, run Prime95 for a few hours to make sure your overclock is stable. Also make sure your temperatures are not too high.
July 12, 2009 11:12:12 AM

does changing the multiplier also put the voltage up
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
July 12, 2009 5:51:17 PM

It can if your Vcore is set to Auto. So if you up your multiplier monitor voltage and temps. Or you can set it manually.
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
July 13, 2009 7:36:15 AM

Most likely though, It won't raise the voltage...But unclefester is right, monitor your voltages and temps...
good luck ;) 
August 18, 2009 2:23:43 AM

DUDE! how were u able to flash the BIOS with the K9A2 Platinum?

Im really scared because ppl say that flashing an MSI board is different from the common flash.