Sign in with
Your question

Hybrid Crossfire X question for the M3A78-T motherboard

Last response: in Motherboards
September 26, 2008 3:06:43 PM

What is the best configuration for using the ASUS M3A78-T?

It can be found here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I can't figure out which graphics cards support the Hybrid Crossfire technology...

originally, I had chosen the Radeon HD 3870, but is that even compatible? It says Crossfire ready, but I figure that means you can use crossfire with another discrete video card... but does that also mean it works with the GPU already on the motherboard as well?

Please help, I'm just learning and I'm so confused... maybe I should get an entirely different motherboard...

Thank you
a b V Motherboard
September 26, 2008 3:15:19 PM

Hybrid CrossFireX is the equivalent of nVidia’s GeForce Boost technology. It is targeted to low-end systems with on-board video motherboards. When you install a “real” video card compatible with this technology, the system sets the video card and the on-board video to work in parallel in CrossFire mode, increasing gaming performance.

Like it happens with nVidia’s counterpart, you need to have a motherboard with a compatible chipset and also a video card that supports this technology in order to use it. This technology only works under Windows Vista.
September 26, 2008 3:22:30 PM

So, basically, I'm not limited by the Hybrid Crossfire tech, and any Crossfire ready video card will receive increased performance?
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
September 26, 2008 3:25:11 PM

Add an ATI Radeon HD 3400 Series graphics card. The result is a potent performance and productivity combination called ATI Hybrid Graphics.
Always present with the ATI Radeon HD 3000 Series is ATI PowerPlay™ power management technology
a b V Motherboard
September 26, 2008 3:26:21 PM

Only the 3400 series ATI graphics card works.
September 26, 2008 3:27:30 PM

Ohhh, Okay, Thanks!