Are these temps OK?

Hi, Mr. Noob here, just got my first build done: i7 920, Zalman cooler, not OC'd yet, will do that next, but I want to make sure I have the cooler mounted correctly.

Here are my idle temps from the EVGA eleet tool. Anything to be concerned about?

11 answers Last reply
More about temps
  1. Looks fine. Now crank it up!
  2. Frankly I'd feel a lot more confident telling you about your temps if you used RealTemp or CoreTemp to monitor temperatures.

If temps were from RealTemp, your core temps at idle could be a bit high depending on your room temperature.

DL and use one of those for an accurate reading.
  3. This will help, make sure you get the latest version. Stuff from the Mobo makers don't ut the mustard. Use these.

Benching software and such is very varied. I use these for each purpose:
    These are pretty standard and used by many.
    Monitoring the PC temps overall: HWmonitor aka hardware monitor
    CPUZ for CPU info
    GPUZ for GPU info
    CPU only: RealTemp
    GPU only: ATI Tool, I have a Nivida GTX280, so it works on Nvidia

Loading/benching tools:
    CPU loaders: Prime95 and OCCT
    GPU Loaders: ATI Tool and the best one is Furmark, nothing pushes the GPU harder right now.
    Benching for overall graphics/gaming performance is 3DMark06
  4. I'll definitely give those a go tonight. I was trying to understand why the CPU temp could idle around 28C and yet the cores would be in the 40's. Maybe that's normal, but anyway, I'll get RealTemp tonight.

Thanks for the advice!
  5. OM, here's the story from RealTemp:

Is a stock i7 920 with a Zalman 9700 cooler in an Antec 1200 expected to idle in the low 40's? :heink:
  6. Pauliedc said:
    OM, here's the story from RealTemp:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3492/3728332300_1b915b1aee_o.jpg

Is a stock i7 920 with a Zalman 9700 cooler in an Antec 1200 expected to idle in the low 40's? :heink: