GA-P35-DS3L: Freezes at first screen

Hi *,

I'm a HW novice when it comes to assembling. Recently I bought all the needed stuff for a desktop PC for basic gaming. I had a guy from a local [reputed] shop come to my place and assemble the whole thing.

Problem is once everything was put together and he switched on the PC, Gigabyte welcome screen appeared on the monitor (like this one http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/252917-30-ep35c-ds3r-doesn-stuck). Pressing any key on the keyboard had no effect and that screen remained on monitor forever.

The assembler assured me that keyboard was properly connected and so on.. (one of the LEDs on the keyboard was on). Also at the boot time mobo gave one single short beep, which according to mobo documentation that means booting went thru fine.

Finally he asked me to check with the Gigabyte support. Unfortunately I bought the mobo in US (from newegg) and I'm in India. So far I've been unable to find where is this "Gigabyte support" in India.

Any help is appreciated..

Here is all the info I can think abt the HW:
- GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L Mobo (LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX) rev 2.0 (need to confirm the rev no again if it matters) http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ProductID=2629
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 (2.66 GHz, 4MB L2, 1333 FSB)
- mobo has no built in graphics card.
- SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 512MB (GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16)
- Corsair 2GB DDR2 800 MHz
- Seagate 80GB HDD 7200rpm
- Dell 19" monitor (Dell E198WFP, Flat panel LCD)
- 400 W power source
- PS2 keyboard
- USB mouse
- As we couldn't get past the first screen the PC has no OS etc of course. :(

Thanks
Kashyap
7 answers Last reply
More about ds3l freezes screen