Sign in with
Your question

ATI 4870 power cable issues

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 28, 2008 10:48:11 AM

Hello everyone,

Sorry for being a total plank. Im a real newb here so please go gently.
I bought an ATI 4870 for my compaq presario SR5440AN desktop. Its in the PCI express slot but I can't find a cable to attach to the power on the graphics card. If anyone can help a real plank, id be very appreciative.

Can anyone shed some light on what I need to do next. Many thanks in advance
July 28, 2008 11:08:34 AM

My 4870 requires 2x6pin pcie power leads. My power supply has these as standard however my graphics card also came with adapters that could take the normal molex plugs and use those to power the card. Did you not get these adapters with your card? If not you need to find some.

Also I dont know the compaq range at all but is your power supply powerful enough to run the 4870?
July 28, 2008 11:15:59 AM

Thanks for the reply. There was nothing in the packaging to plug into the power. What a nightmare, I might have to go and have a look for some of those adaptors? Or look at replacing the power supply.

Whats the minimum power supply I'd need.

Sigh why cant upgrading be simple
Related resources
July 28, 2008 11:26:08 AM

You want AT LEAST 500 watts, from a good brand for a 4870. Again I dont know compaq's specifically but some of the big name pre built systems use some nasty custom components, like odd mother board power connectors that stop you from using off the shelf upgrades etc. Compaq might well use standard parts, but I know some manufacturers dont. well worth looking into this sort of thing before you start!

The adapters you want (if your PSU has the spare juice to run the 4870) look like this :-

http://www.atxpowersupplies.com/images/Molex-to-PCI-Exp...

you will want two of them.
July 28, 2008 11:30:57 AM