advice on power supply

Malorne

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2008
I recently bought a new monitor (Acer 24" widescreen - bad buy, but that is another subject) and a new video card - ATI Radeon HD 3850, and I suspect I now need a power supply that can handle this load. The problem I am having manifests itself only when playing 3D games or videos. It will not play long before I get a BSOD which points to ati2dvag.dll being stuck in an infinite loop. I have updated the chipset drivers and video card drivers, and used driver cleaner pro to assure a fresh driver install. My system has an MSI K8N Neo4 Ultra mother board, and Kingston RAM.

It seems that the weakest link is the PSU, which is the one that came with my XION case, 450w no name. I am no expert, but it would seem to me that the new video card is drawing more power than the PSU can supply to run the big widescreen monitor. If that seems like a flawed conclusion please let me know also, but what I need is recommendations on a good (but not over priced) PSU for this setup.

Thanks!

A real 450W PSU should be able to handle that card, but a no-name 450 is probably good for maybe 250 before its outputs start to wander away from the ATX standard. Since this could include dumping all kinds of electrical noise into your system, you may be shortening its life considerably. In your place I would replace it ASAP.

bobwya

May 21, 2005
Hi