gwolfman

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2007
Hi,

I just built another machine and had one heck of time just trying to get windows install. It kept blue-screening on me. I'm new to this motherboard (ASUS P5Q-E with the QX9650) and it has many more options in the BIOS than my last one (ASUS P5W DH Deluxe) so I don't know what all the options do. Either way, I left almost everything on default and finally got XP to install. So I booted up and check CoreTemp, everything looks ok. I ran prime95 and one of the cores errors out after 1 second but the rest of them can run for 5+ mins without issue. Anyone have issues with the P5Q-E on BIOS 1306? I'm guessing it's just my CPU. Any ideas?

coretempub8.png

errormt9.png

eklipz330

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2008
well you said you left almost everything at default... maybe its everything you should try on default? either way, i think it is a bad processor, why don't you try and put another proc in there and see how things go

dokk2

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2007
did you read the file stress.txt???, and what did it say??did you fdisk your hdd or did you let windoze do it,,,personally as i do not trust windoze and i want to be sure that it is done right i use fdisk or xfdisk,and create all the partition manually,the formatting can be safely done with windoze,but the partitioning is too critical to be left to the mercies of what i perceive as an unreliable system,after all widoze is just a gui running on top of dos,,eh what,,,,,,,,???.......can you test your cpu in another mobo,maybe at the store where you bought it,,from a default installation you should theoretically have no problems at all and if you do the problem can only be one of five items,,1,the psu,,2,,the cpu,,3,the ram,,4,the mobo,,5,the hdd..as you did not give much in the way of system specs ,,you must realize that any responses must be either generic or educated guesses.....:)

gwolfman

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2007
Thanks for the replies!