Sign in with
Your question

Can my system be OC'd at all?

Last response: in Overclocking
July 29, 2009 4:23:44 PM

I am a complete novice at overclocking. I didn't build my system for overclocking- it is basically a budget system where I tried to get the most bang for my buck with Newegg deals, combo's, etc., but now that it's built and I've been using it, curiosity has been getting to me. Should I be able to overclock this system at all?

Here are the important parts:

GIGABYTE GA-MA770-UD3 AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Brisbane 2.7GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail
(link is to the OEM- Newegg doesn't seem to have the retail one any more)

SAPPHIRE 100245HDMI Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

So far the small experiments I have done have been pretty unsuccessful. I have tried to bump up the CPU a bit using AMD Overdrive, but even a small amount of tweaking has caused instability.

I have also tried to speed up the HD 4850, but that has not been very successful either. I am using pretty roomy Antec case with a 92mm front fan and a 120mm rear fan. I have the stock cooler that cam with the CPU. The 4850 seems to create a lot of heat.

More about : system

a b K Overclocking
July 29, 2009 4:45:46 PM

If you are planning on doing any overclocking at all I suggest you buy an aftermarket cooler for your brisbane.... After that is installed you can overclock that chip to about 3.2Ghz with a slight voltage increase.....

You need something like this :

July 29, 2009 5:16:00 PM

I have been thinking about getting a different cooler for it. The one you link to appears to be very good for the price. Also, the reviewers claim that it can be installed without removing the motherboard.