Status
Not open for further replies.

magicbullet

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2008
I'm really really new in Raid department. sorry, if i miss or say something inappropriate. i just got two brand new raptors 74GB western digital drive.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136492&cm_re=raptor-_-22-136-492-_-Product
kind of like that but brand new.
I got a G31 with ICH7 chipset. to be more specific:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130217

I would like to know if i can raid the two hard drives because my motherboard doesnt say it has a raid build in. If i cannot raid it with my mobo. what kind of option do i have? Should i buy a pci raid card, if so, which one would you recommend(newegg link would b good) I have a limited budget around no more than $50 if that will give me anything.

second question, how to raid0 the drive? please send me link or tell me how to create it raid0 and install window 7 64bits on it.
thank you,
Magicbullet

Solution
The ICH7 does not have RAID AT ALL, thats why i bought a new mobo, i HAD a ICH7 but now own an ICH10R (NOTE that the 'R' indicates 'RAID')

I haven't even used the RAID yet ;) but planning on a stripe (RAID0) of 2x 500GB drives.

I'm not entirely sure about a card to suggest but i have heard that the Promise FastTrack are popular and good chips, but watchout which card manufacturer you get it from, i bough a Promise chip on a Ritmo card and only 1 out of 4 ports worked! mind you i was being REALLY cheap to get SATA on an old Pentium 4 (paid $10AU).

PS: If you REALLY want or need the RAID, you might need to buy a controller card. they are about $50AU (i dunno how much $US) and slot into your PCI-Ex1.0 lane. You could also look into...

dglad4

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2009
The ICH7 does not have RAID AT ALL, thats why i bought a new mobo, i HAD a ICH7 but now own an ICH10R (NOTE that the 'R' indicates 'RAID')