Sign in with
Your question

Windows Won't Start After Overclock

Last response: in Overclocking
August 1, 2009 11:12:25 PM

First off, I'm very new to overclocking, so I'm not entirely sure of all that's involved. I have an Intel q9550 with a gigabyte ep45-ud3p mobo. I decided to experiment with a modest overclock, going from 2.83 Ghz to 3 Ghz. After a bit of research I thought that all I would need to do would be to change the FSB. I assumed the CPU could handle that small of an increase on the stock voltage. I changed the FSB from 333 to 353 in the BIOS with the same 8.5x multiplier. Though after I saved and rebooted, Windows wouldn't start. I'm dual booting the Windows 7 RC and XP, and neither would boot up. I switched back to the default FSB, and it starts just fine once again. I know that the temperature should be fine, as my CPU idles at about 29C, and reaches the mid 50s under load at the default settings. I have two sticks of 2GB DDR2 1066, which I believe should also be able to handle the increase. The Windows boot loader gave an option to do a repair boot of some sort citing hardware changes, but that didn't work. I'm left wondering what the problem is.
a b K Overclocking
August 1, 2009 11:16:52 PM

Clear the CMOS and boot......
m
l
August 1, 2009 11:38:30 PM

I just found that when I increase the FSB it increases the RAM frequency to 1130. It's rated at 1066. Could this be the problem? I'm a little unsure how to alter the RAM frequency in the BIOS.
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
August 1, 2009 11:48:44 PM

Leave the FSB alone if you don't know what you are doing.

The only thing you should make sure of is that if your RAM is 1066Mhz then change the frequency to 1066 but you also need to change the timing to get a stable system...
m
l
August 1, 2009 11:59:55 PM

OvrClkr said:
Leave the FSB alone if you don't know what you are doing.