TV Tuner Help

tallguy1618

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2007
I recently hooked up my Xbox 360 to my PC and got them to reconize each other. I know that with a TV Tuner, I can record TV on my computer's hard drive like a DVR, and I'm pretty sure I can then watch it on my TV using the 360, right? I've been looking around for TV Tuners on Newegg, and am very confused. I have no experience with these componets. So my questions are:
1. Are there any higher quality brands of TV Tuners that I should prefer in my purchase?
2. How do I know if it will let me record TV like a DVR?
3. Can I stream recorded content to the 360 and from there to the TV?
4. My biggest question, is there such a thing as a High Definition TV Tuner? If there is, can I theoretically record in high definition to my hard drive and watch the high definition recording on my tv through the 360? My TV is high definiton and the 360 is using an HDMI cable to connect to it.

axlrose

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2008
not sure that's all correct but i'm on here to figure out why i can't get vista to work with my hdtv cable box. i can't get my vista remote to change channels while doing setup in media center and so it won't finish and won't set up my channels.

about your questions though, there are high def tuners (sony actually sells them) but they can't be used by anyone except someone that buys a specific prebuilt system as best i can tell. i just bought the xhd3000 as part of my new build and was hoping to watch hdtv on it.

my understanding is that you can watch local channels in hd however. i know you can over the air with rabbit ears, but my understanding is you can also through a cable box (let you know for sure if i can get media center to play nice with my remote).