Sign in with
Your question

Underperforming 4850s

Tags:
  • Radeon
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 4, 2008 9:14:46 PM

I have 4850s running in crossfire on a Gigabyte x48 mobo. This is my first build, and I'm not quite sure what I could be doing wrong, I've been struggling with this for quite a while. 3dMark06 is rating my crossfired cards at like 5k points. Sometimes I even get a "device driver stopped responding" when I hit the 5th test. In games, my framerates are decent, but still seem like they arent as good as they should be. My psu is an antec truepower quattro 850w. Someone on newegg said it ran his rig with tons of HDDs, optical drives, and two 9800GX2s, so I can only imagine this is enough to power my system. I know I have crossfire enabled in the catalyst control center, I just have no idea why my performance is this poor. I'm also using an e8400 at stock 3GHz, so I doubt that would be bottlenecking anything.

Could the fact that my PSU supplies only 18A on its 12V rails be a problem? Would that underampage make my computer shut off, or would it just make it perform badly. I've used GPUz and the clocks are kicking up when in 3d mode to like 640MHz core and 1000MHz memory, and it runs at that load just fine. Any reason why my framerates / synthetic scores especially are so underwhelming?

More about : underperforming 4850s

August 5, 2008 3:15:30 AM

Um, I think the sm2 was like 2k, as was the sm3, and like 1k for the cpu (an e8400 for christs sake). Just ran the cards on my friends computer and they each got 11k on their own, his e6750 conroe got like 2.7k of that score, and like the other 8k was split pretty evenly between the two sm2 and sm3 scores. I think maybe 4.7k for the first score and like 3.3 for the other? anyway, way more than im getting on my rig. All the other parts have been isolated and tested.