I7 920 Heat Issues

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Intel i7
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
August 6, 2009 1:37:40 AM

Hi everyone,

Im fairly new to overclocking but I have been reading for months in preparation for my first ever build, which was fairly easy, my goal for the i7 is just 3.2ghz. The problem is that the load temperatures are ridiculously high as well as idle temperatures. I wanted to confirm if its my room as it has no AC due to a narrow window but Im using a fan =( or its how my HSF is fitted which I thought I did quite well.

Specs:
Antec 1200 - Case
P6T Deluxe v2 - Mobo
Intel i7 920 - CPU
OCZ Low Voltage 6gb DDR3 1600mhz - RAM
Thermalright Ultra-120 Rev. B - HSF
EVGA GTX 275 - GPU
Corsair 1000HX - PSU
Anything crucial missing?

Currently idle temps are 47c and load temperature is 75c.

Im constantly running Prime95 everytime I lower the core voltage, currently its at 1.1v, the cpu PLL voltage is stock 1.8v, and the rest is auto. Also is there a set time I should run it for before lowering the voltage even more?

More about : 920 heat issues

August 6, 2009 2:08:07 AM

Just downloaded Speedfan to see if Core Temp is giving me wrong temperatures, Speedfan is now recording my CPU temperature to be 40c at idle and 32c for the cores, at load for Speedfan its showing 60c max.

For Speedfan should I be looking at the cores or the CPU temperature?
And which of the two programs should I look at for real temperatures?
August 6, 2009 2:47:01 AM

I always use hardware monitor. I was able to get my 920 to 3.35 w/ stock and it ran at 80 degrees full load, so I think that yours is normal. But it looks like you are able to run a good overclock at low voltage, so you should pick up a liquid cooler and see how far you can push that chip.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
August 6, 2009 3:11:21 AM

skyre said:

Specs:
Antec 1200 - Case
P6T Deluxe v2 - Mobo
Intel i7 920 - CPU
OCZ Low Voltage 6gb DDR3 1600mhz - RAM
Thermalright Ultra-120 Rev. B - HSF