Question on P45 Motherboards

Stig783

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2008
Hi, im about to build a whole new gaming system and my eyes were drawm to the Asus models of the P45 chipset motherboards. After doing a little research I found that alot of people were having issues, such as boot problems and memory incompatibility.

I was wondering if there is any kind of stable p45 motherboard out there. It seemed every Asus model i looked at, seemed to have problems with BIOS or memory.

Id appreciate any advice.

Thanks

qwertycopter

Distinguished
May 30, 2006
I've been running a P5Q-E for about 2 months now and there's been 2 new BIOS revisions since I bought it. I've not had any memory issues, but I bought memory which was on the qualified vendors list. However, I did recently run into a problem. The P5Q-E has only a single PS/2 port which can run either a PS/2 mouse or keyboard. The other day it didn't recognize my PS2 keyboard on boot. I tried another PS/2 keyboard, still nothing. I tried a PS/2 mouse and it works. I bought a USB keyboard and it works. Now my problem is that the USB keyboard doesn't seem to be active until after Windows loads, so I can't use it to get into the BIOS. Great, I have no way of getting into the BIOS. I'm going to flash the BIOS through ASUS update and cross my fingers. Until this issue, my mobo has worked great.

Your probability of having memory compatibility issues will asymptotically approach zilch if you get RAM that will run at its advertised timings on the JEDEC standard 1.8V.
Also, check the QVL for the mobo you are considering, although I believe the former is far more important, as mobo vendors don't test with all available RAM.

MaDMagik

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2008